Skip to main content

Electoral reform commission gets to work

This month, the territory’s first-ever independent commission on electoral reform was staffed with three commissioners. These commissioners include, Jessica Lott Thompson; who will chair the commission; Beverly Buckway; and Jean-Sébastien Blais.

The commission’s scope includes three main areas: the system used to elect the territorial government, the ways Yukoners participate in democracy during and between elections, and how the territorial political parties and elected officials operate before, during, and after elections. To inform their work, the commission will consider the priorities of Yukoners identified during the public engagement that took place in the fall of 2018.

The three commissioners have been involved in a variety of groups in the community. First, Jessica Lott Thompson is the Director of the Yukon Human Rights Commission and President of the Yukon Branch of the Canadian Bar Association. Second, Beverly Buckway is the former Executive Director of the Association of Yukon Communities and served as the Mayor of Whitehorse from 2006 to 2012. Last, Jean-Sébastien Blais is the Président of the Commission Scolaire Francophone du Yukon and a policy analyst with the Yukon Housing Corporation.

Keep your eyes peeled for the results of the independent commission, which are expected to be released on January 31, 2020.

July 30, 2019

Share this Article: Share this article on social media
Topics in this Article: Commentaries

Related Documents