Skip to main content

Dismissal for incompetence: are we gaining or losing ground?

  • Home
  • Dismissal for incompetence: are we gaining or losing ground?

Mtre Rhéaume Perreault, CRIA, Adm. A.
Fasken Martineau DuMoulin

On October 4, 2017, the Superior Court rendered an important decision regarding dismissals for incompetence. This decision will definitely have a major impact on how employers will manage employees who lack the necessary skills to carry out their work.  The decision applies to small and large corporations alike, both unionized and non-unionized1

The Facts
The employer, a school board, dismissed an employee for incompetence. This employee had problems with productivity and efficiency, and the work he did was filled with mistakes. In order to resolve this problem, the employer requested that he sign a Performance Improvement Plan (“PIP”) in which the employee undertook to improve his performance. However, the employee failed to make any progress, and the employer met with him on several occasions to address this problem. Before dismissing the employee, the employer offered him another position as receptionist, asking for a response within three (3) days. In light of the employee’s refusal and his inability to improve his work, he was dismissed.

The Decisions
The arbitrator Jean Ménard upheld the grievance filed by the employee in respect of his dismissal.  Although he acknowledged his inability to perform his duties adequately and the need for the PIP, he felt that the employer had acted unreasonably when it gave the employee only three (3) days to decide whether or not to accept the position as receptionist. The arbitrator retained jurisdiction over the appropriate solution. This decision was subject to a motion for judicial review. 

The employer alleged that the arbitrator should have followed the criteria that usually apply, namely:

  • the employee must be aware of the employer’s company policies as well as the expectations set for him;
  • he was warned on numerous occasions of his shortcomings;
  • he was given the necessary support to remedy his shortcomings and attain his objectives;
  • he was given a reasonable period of time to adjust;
  • he was warned that he risked being dismissed should he fail to show any improvement in his work. 

The union, for its part, alleged that Québec courts must comply with an additional criterion which applies elsewhere in Canada: « The employer must establish an inability on the part of the employee to meet the requisite standard to an extent that renders her incapable of performing the job and that reasonable efforts were made to find alternate employment within the competence of the employee. »

The Superior Court judge concurred with the union’s position, and saw no reason why a test that applies in Canada should not be applied in Québec.  He writes: “It defies logic that the rules governing employers and employees in potential cases of administrative dismissal for incompetence should be different in Québec than in the rest of Canada. Such a differentiation would need to have been enacted by the Quebec legislature. It did not pass any legislation to that effect.”

The court therefore quashed the Motion for judicial review, while emphasizing that before dismissing an employee for incompetence, the employer must make “reasonable efforts (…) to find alternate employment within the competence of the employee.”

Conclusion
While this decision may not be enshrined as an absolute principle, it will definitely make a lot of ink flow. Lawmakers may now be tempted to demand that employers “make reasonable efforts to reassign the employee to another compatible position” before proceeding with a dismissal for incompetence.  

1Commission scolaire Kaivik v. Ménard, 2017 QCCS 4686.

Passer au contenu principal

Chronique juridique | Congédiement pour cause d'incompétence : on recule ou on avance?

  • Accueil
  • Chronique juridique | Congédiement pour cause d'incompétence : on recule ou on avance?

Me Rhéaume Perreault, CRIA, Adm. A., Fasken Martineau DuMoulin

Le 4 octobre 2017, la Cour supérieure a rendu une décision importante en matière de congédiement pour incompétence. Celle-ci aura définitivement un impact important sur la manière dont les employeurs auront à gérer des employés qui n’ont pas les compétences nécessaires pour accomplir leurs tâches. Cette décision s’applique en milieu syndiqué, non syndiqué, petite ou grande entreprise1.

Les faits
L’employeur, une Commission scolaire, a congédié un employé pour cause d’incompétence. Celui-ci avait des problèmes de productivité, d’efficacité et remettait du travail rempli d’erreurs. Afin de trouver une solution à ce problème, l’employeur lui a fait signer un Plan d’amélioration de la performance (ci-après « PAP ») dans lequel l’employé s’engageait à améliorer sa performance. Or, celui-ci n’a jamais progressé et l’employeur l’a rencontré à maintes reprises pour l’en aviser. Avant de le congédier, l’employeur lui a même offert un poste de réceptionniste, lui demandant une réponse à l’intérieur de trois (3) jours. Compte tenu du refus de l’employé et de son incapacité à améliorer sa prestation de travail, il a été congédié.

Les décisions
L’arbitre Jean Ménard a accueilli le grief logé par l’employé à l’encontre de son congédiement.  Il reconnait qu’il était incapable d’exercer ses fonctions adéquatement et de la nécessité du PAP. Cependant, il estime que l’employeur a agi de manière déraisonnable puisque ce dernier n’a donné que trois (3) jours à l’employé pour décider s’il acceptait ou non le poste de réceptionniste. L’arbitre a réservé sa compétence quant au remède approprié. Cette décision a fait l’objet d’une requête en révision judiciaire.

L’employeur allègue que l’arbitre aurait dû suivre les critères normalement appliqués, i.e. :

  • le salarié doit connaître les politiques de l’entreprise et les attentes fixées par l’employeur à son égard;
  • ses lacunes lui ont été signalées;
  • il a obtenu le support nécessaire pour se corriger et atteindre ses objectifs;
  • il a bénéficié d’un délai raisonnable pour s’ajuster;
  • il a été prévenu du risque de congédiement à défaut d’amélioration de sa part. 

Pour sa part, le syndicat alléguait que les tribunaux québécois se devaient de respecter un critère supplémentaire, lequel est appliqué ailleurs au Canada.  Celui-ci est le suivant : « The employer must establish an inability on the part of the employee to meet the requisite standard to an extent that renders her incapable of performing the job and that reasonable efforts were made to find alternate employment within the competence of the employee. »

Le juge de la Cour supérieure est d’accord avec la position syndicale. Il est d’avis que rien ne justifie que le test appliqué au Canada ne trouve pas application au Québec. Il écrit « Il est illogique que les règles régissant tant les employeurs que les employés, en situation possible de congédiement administratif pour incompétence, soient différentes au Québec par comparaison avec le reste du Canada. Une telle différenciation devrait être édictée par le législateur québécois. Il n’a pas légiféré en ce sens. »

La Cour a donc rejeté le pouvoir en contrôle judiciaire tout en soulignant qu’un employeur doit, avant de procéder à un congédiement pour incompétence, faire « reasonable efforts (…) to find alternate employment within the competence of the employee. »

Conclusion
Il faut bien se garder d’ériger en principe absolu cette récente décision. Cependant, il est indéniable qu’elle fera couler beaucoup d’encre et que certains décideurs pourraient être tentés d’imposer maintenant aux employeurs l’obligation de « déployer des efforts raisonnables pour réaffecter l’employé dans un autre poste compatible » avant de procéder à un congédiement pour incompétence.  

1Commission scolaire Kaivik c. Ménard, 2017 QCCS 4686.

 

 

Me Rhéaume Perreault

Me Rhéaume Perreault

Rhéaume Perreault est reconnu comme étant l’un des meilleurs avocats dans le domaine du droit du travail et de l’emploi par le répertoire The Best Lawyers in Canada de Woodward/White depuis plusieurs années. Il est diplômé en droit de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Il est également détenteur d’un baccalauréat en relations industrielles de l’Université de Montréal.

La FCEI se dégage de toutes responsabilités quant au contenu ce cette chronique et à l’utilisation et l’interprétation qui en sera faite subséquemment par l’entreprise ou une tierce partie.