Skip to main content

The Order of the Bear

  • Home
  • The Order of the Bear

Recognizing those who help reduce red tape for small business in Canada.

Order of the Bear logo

Red tape is one of the biggest and most frustrating issues for small businesses across the country. It causes headaches for owners, makes them feel like the enemy when dealing with government, and erodes the relationship between government and business.

But some governments make efforts to reduce red tape, and the people behind these initiatives deserve our recognition and thanks. Enter Small Biz Bravo and the Order of the Bear.

Thanking Those Who Cut Red Tape

The Order of the Bear celebrates government action to support small business by reducing red tape. Anyone working for any level of government who has gone above and beyond with a contribution towards cutting red tape (including improving government customer service) may be eligible to be named to the Order of the Bear.

The Story

The Order of the Bear (and Bravo!) was conceived jointly by CFIB member Karen McKee, owner of Warm Buddy, and Laura Jones, CFIB’s lead red tape reduction advocate.

Karen and Warm Buddy have been making therapy products, including plush, warm-up animals (like Bravo) since 1995. Formally trained as a nurse, Karen has a caring nature and commitment to the purpose of her business, customers, and staff. As a British Columbia-based small business owner and employer, she knows first-hand how important it is to reduce red-tape.

Laura, whose family members own small businesses, also knows how destructive red tape can be. She has been researching the impact of excessive regulation, providing advice to governments on the subject, and helping CFIB members resolve both garden-variety and business-threatening red tape challenges for over 15 years.

About the Award

While the thank you—in the form of a Small Biz Bravo and induction into the Order of the Bear—is cute, its intentions are serious. Red tape is destructive to our economy, our communities and to individuals, and it has severe consequences like higher prices, lower employment, and lower wages.

Order of the Bear recipients have each received a #SmallBizBravo bear to thank them for helping to reduce red tape for small business in Canada. A limited number of bears are awarded annually by regional CFIB offices across Canada as they become aware of worthy recipients.

Karen and Laura hope to see a Bravo bear in government offices across the country to remind people how important it is to support small businesses. Follow Bravo on Instagram and Twitter @SmallBizBravo. Have any nominations for those deserving recognition? Please let us know!

Support small business

Recipients of The Order of the Bear

Order of the Bear recipients have each received a small Biz Bravo bear to thank them for doing something important to help reduce red tape for small business in Canada. Will you be next?

Brad Duguid, Minister of Economic Development and Growth

The Government of Ontario

December 2017

On December 14, 2017, Brad Duguid, Minister of Economic Development and Growth, became the seventh inductee to the Order of the Bear, and first ever from the Ontario government. Minister Duguid has been the province’s strongest advocate for cutting red tape during his six years as economic development minister.

In 2014, he introduced the Burden Reduction Reporting Act, a law that requires annual reporting of the government’s regulatory burden reduction efforts. In 2016 he launched the Red Tape Challenge, an online, sector-by-sector consultation that allows business owners to submit their red tape concerns and proposed solutions directly to government. In its first two years, the program saw the government commit to take action on 234 different measures identified by business owners.

Most recently, in 2017, he introduced Ontario’s “1 for 1.25” rule, that will require a $1.25 offset for every new dollar of administrative costs imposed on business through regulation.

 

Federal Government’s Canadian Free Trade Agreement Negotiating team

June 2017

In April, 2017, the federal, provincial, and territorial governments announced the signing of the Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA). The CFTA is the result of many years of work meant to replace the outdated Agreement on Internal Trade and represents a significant accomplishment towards reducing interprovincial trade barriers in Canada.

The CFTA is a modern and ambitious approach to trade, and will make it easier for Canadian small businesses to trade their products across interprovincial borders. The federal government’s negotiating team played a key role in maintaining the momentum of the CFTA negotiations and are the first federal team to be inducted to the Order of the Bear. They will continue to play a critical role in ensuring that Canadian small business issues are addressed and resolved throughout the next steps of implementing the agreement.

Nova Scotia’s Office of Regulatory Affairs and Service Effectiveness

Joan Penney

Executive Director of Project Implementation and Customer Service

Leanne Hachey

Executive Director of Stakeholder Relations and Intergovernmental Initiatives

Fred Crooks

Chief Regulatory Officer

June 2017

Joan, Leanne, Fred and their teams are the fifth inductees into CFIB’s Order of the Bear for their commitment and perseverance in helping small business in Nova Scotia cut through red tape. Their teams have introduced Canada’s first business navigation service to help business understand and comply with regulations, developed a means to assess the impact of regulation on business, and eliminated regulatory inconsistencies. This work helps businesses start, grow, and prosper in Nova Scotia.

Joan and her team’s most recent accomplishment has been the successful implementation of a Business Navigation Service within the Office. The Business Navigators provide support directly to businesses that need help with government rules and regulations around establishing or running a business in Nova Scotia. Importantly, the Business Navigators have the ability to escalate red tape issues to senior departmental levels for resolution. The hundreds of businesses that have worked with this team since it launched in February 2017 consistently rank the service as exceptional.

Leanne and her team developed a means to assess the impact of regulation on business and rolled out this tool to ensure its use across government. They’ve also worked to ensure business is involved and informed about the Office’s work and oversee the elimination of regulatory inconsistency and duplication between Atlantic provinces. Most notably, the team participated, with the business community, in the Council of Atlantic Premiers’ Red Tape Reduction Initiative. The partnership delivered some initial progress on breaking down interprovincial trade barriers in trucking, workers’ compensation and occupational health and safety and because of this work further regional regulatory efficiency is being tackled.

Paul Pierlot

Director, Entrepreneurship Manitoba, the Government of Manitoba and Senior Manager, Competitiveness Initiatives, Government of Manitoba

April 2017

Paul Pierlot is being recognized for his exceptional role in bringing forward one-for-one red tape reduction legislation in Manitoba. Mr. Pierlot and his team have been the leading architects of Manitoba’s Bill 22: The Regulatory Accountability Act and Amendments to the Statutes and Regulations Act, and subsequent legislation to move specific red tape; Bill 24: The Red Tape Reduction and Government Efficiency Act, 2017.

Under Bill 22, Manitoba will become the first province to implement CFIB’s one-for-one challenge. The province is taking it a step further even by implementing a two-for-one reduction policy for the first four years after the legislation is implemented.

For several years, Paul has worked to identify regulatory burdens facings small businesses and other Manitoba residents. With Bill 22, the province will work to achieve balance with regulatory requirements, identify the best option for them, assess their impact, consult and communicate about them, monitor and minimize their number, and streamline their design.
Importantly, Paul and his team will first determine the number of regulatory requirements in the province and how to measure their impact and growth.
 

Sam Jawad

President of Chase Paymentech

February 2017

Mr. Sam Jawad, President of Chase Paymentech Solutions Canada, is the third inductee into CFIB’s Order of the Bear for his continued efforts towards cutting red tape for small business in Canada. Having served over 12 years in the payment industry, Mr. Jawad knows full well the important role a payment processing company plays in a business’ day-to-day existence. CFIB has had a tremendous relationship with Chase over the years. In addition to offering competitive rates, they have worked hard to reduce the loads of red tape that come with processing credit cards. Chase eliminated exit fees as well as other common industry fees for CFIB members, and improved statement and contract disclosure and complexity. 

Recently, Mr. Jawad partnered with CFIB through Mastercard, which has allowed for an agreement that will directly benefit CFIB’s 109,000 member businesses. They will now be able to access exclusive rates previously reserved solely for a handful of big businesses. This means lower rates and fewer fees for small businesses, which creates a friendlier environment for small business in Canada and benefits our overall economic climate. Thank you, Mr. Jawad!

BC Government’s Red Tape Reduction Team

December 2016

In March 2015, the Ministry of Red Tape Reduction announced the implementation of Red Tape Reduction Day, to be observed every year on the first Wednesday of March. 

Accompanying this announcement was the commitment to reduce the burdens of red tape through an ongoing red tape reduction consultation. This consultation holds a permanent position on the government’s website where citizens can share their concerns on how to streamline and modernize cumbersome processes, making it easier for small business to do business. Thanks to this team’s commitment, BC continues to be a leader in red tape reduction.
 

Carol Hamilton & City Council

City of Colwood Mayor

December 2016

In April 2016, Colwood Mayor and Council made the decision to eliminate annual business license renewal fees. Starting in 2017, existing Colwood businesses will no longer pay a fee, but will be required to complete a quick and easy online renewal each year to keep their license in good standing. New businesses will pay a one-time fee when they first apply and, once approved, will receive a perpetual license.

Nominations

Know someone who deserves the Order of the Bear? Tell us how they have helped Canadian small business cut through red tape and why they are worthy of a Small Biz Bravo!

Any individual, including those working for any level of government (municipal, provincial, regional, or federal), can be considered.

Required Field
Your Nominee
Required Field
About You

Passer au contenu principal

L’Ordre de l’ours

La reconnaissance de ceux qui aident à réduire le fardeau administratif pour les PME au Canada.

Order of the Bear logo

le fardeau administratif est l’un des importants et frustrants problèmes rencontrés par les PME partout au pays. Elles sont la cause de maux de tête pour les propriétaires, et leur donnent l’impression que le gouvernement est leur ennemi et érodent cette relation entre ce dernier et les entreprises.

Néanmoins, certains gouvernements font des efforts pour réduire le fardeau administratif et les personnes à l’origine de ces actions méritent notre reconnaissance et nos remerciements. Accédez au site Web de Small Biz BRavo et à l’Ordre de l’ours.

Remerciements pour ceux qui participent à la réduction du fardeau administratif

L’Ordre de l’ours célèbre l’action du gouvernement pour soutenir les PME en réduisant le fardeau administratif. Toute personne travaillant à n’importe quel palier du gouvernement et ayant fait preuve d’un dévouement pour la réduction du fardeau administratif (y compris l’amélioration du service à la clientèle du gouvernement) peut être admissible à recevoir l’Ordre de l’ours.

L’histoire

L’Ordre de l’ours (et Bravo!) a été conçu conjointement par Karen McKee, membre de la FCEI, propriétaire de Warm Buddy, et Laura Jones, militante principale de la FCEI en matière de réduction du fardeau administratif.

Karen et Warm Buddy fabriquent des produits thérapeutiques, y compris des animaux en peluche et des animaux en peluche pour des thérapies à base de la chaleur (comme Bravo) depuis 1995. Ayant reçu une formation d’infirmière, Karen est dotée d’une nature bienveillante et fait preuve d’engagement envers les objectifs de son entreprise, de ses clients et de son personnel. En tant que propriétaire et employée d’une PME située en Colombie-Britannique, elle est pleinement consciente à quel point il est important de réduire le fardeau administratif.

Laura, dont les membres de sa famille sont propriétaires de PME, sait également à quel point le fardeau administratif peut être nuisible. Elle a fait des recherches sur les conséquences d’une réglementation excessive, a conseillé les gouvernements sur le sujet et a aidé de nombreux membres de la FCEI à résoudre des problèmes liés au fardeau administratif qui menacent leurs entreprises pendant plus de 15 ans.

À propos du prix

Bien que le remerciement, sous forme d’un ours Bravo et l’admission à l’Ordre de l’ours, est un beau geste, ses intentions sont sérieuses. le fardeau administratif est nuisible à notre économie, à nos communautés et aux individus et il implique de graves conséquences comme des prix élevés, une baisse du taux d’emploi et une diminution des salaires.

Les récipiendaires de l’Ordre de l’ours ont chacun reçu un ours #SmallBizBravo pour les remercier d’avoir aidé à alléger la paperasse des PME au Canada. Un nombre limité d’ours sont décernés annuellement par les bureaux régionaux de la FCEI à travers le Canada, à mesure qu’elle prend conscience des dignes récipiendaires.

Karen et Laura espèrent voir les ours Bravo dans les bureaux gouvernementaux à travers le pays, rappelant aux gens l’importance de soutenir les PME. Suivez Bravo sur Instagram et sur Twitter @SmallBizBravo. Y a-t-il des nominations pour les personnes dignes d’une reconnaissance? Veuillez nous en faire part!

Support small business

Nominations

Connaissez-vous une personne digne de l’Ordre de l’ours? Dites-nous comment elle a aidé les PME canadiennes à réduire le fardeau administratif et pourquoi elle mérite un Small Biz Bravo!

Toute personne, y compris celles travaillant sur un quelconque palier de gouvernement (municipal, provincial, régional ou fédéral), peut être admissible à recevoir l’Ordre de l’ours.

Champs requis
Votre nominé
Champs requis
Au propos de vous

Recipients of The Order of the Bear

Connaissez-vous une personne digne de l’Ordre de l’ours? Dites-nous comment elle a aidé les PME canadiennes à réduire le fardeau administratif et pourquoi elle mérite un Small Biz Bravo!

Toute personne, y compris celles travaillant sur un quelconque palier de gouvernement (municipal, provincial, régional ou fédéral), peut être admissible à recevoir l’Ordre de l’ours.

Équipe de négociation de l’accord de libre-échange canadien du gouvernement fédéral

Juin 2017

En avril 2017, les gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux ont annoncé la signature de l’accord de libre-échange canadien (ALEC). L’ALEC est le fruit de nombreuses années de travail visant à remplacer l’accord sur le commerce intérieur, un accord désuet, et représentant un important progrès vers la réduction des barrières commerciales interprovinciales au Canada.

L’ALEC est une approche moderne et ambitieuse du commerce, qui facilitera l’échange des produits entre les PME interprovinciales. L’équipe de négociation du gouvernement fédéral a joué un rôle clé dans le maintien de l’élan des négociations sur l’ALEC et est la première équipe fédérale à être admise à l’Ordre de l’ours. Elle continuera de jouer un rôle essentiel en veillant à ce que les obstacles touchant les PME canadiennes soient abordés et résolus tout au long des étapes de la mise en œuvre de l’accord.

Les affaires réglementaires et l’efficacité des services de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Joan Penney

Directrice générale des projets d’implémentation et des services à la clientèle

Leanne Hachey

Directrice générale responsable des relations avec les intervenants et les initiatives intergouvernementales

Fred Crooks

Agent en chef de la réglementation

Juin 2017

Joan, Leanne, Fred et leurs équipes sont les cinquièmes admis à l’Ordre de l’ours de la FCEI pour leur engagement et leur persévérance à aider les PME de la Nouvelle-Écosse à réduire le fardeau administratif. Leurs équipes ont présenté le premier service de navigation commerciale du Canada pour aider les entreprises à comprendre et à se conformer à la réglementation, ont développé un moyen d’évaluer l’incidence de la réglementation sur les entreprises et ont éliminé les incohérences réglementaires. Ce travail aide les entreprises à démarrer, à croître et à prospérer en Nouvelle-Écosse.

La plus récente réalisation de Joan et de son équipe a été la mise en œuvre réussie d’un service de navigation commerciale au sein du cabinet. Les navigateurs d’affaires offrent un soutien direct aux entreprises qui ont besoin d’aide pour appliquer les règles et les règlements du gouvernement concernant l’établissement ou l’exploitation d’une entreprise en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le plus important, les Business Navigators ont la possibilité de transmettre les problèmes liés au fardeau administratif aux niveaux supérieurs des ministères pour qu’ils les résolvent. Les centaines d’entreprises qui ont travaillé avec cette équipe depuis son lancement en février 2017 classent systématiquement le service comme étant exceptionnel.

Leanne et son équipe ont mis au point un moyen d’évaluer l’impact de la réglementation sur les entreprises et ont déployé cet outil pour assurer son utilisation dans l’ensemble du gouvernement. Elles ont également veillé à ce que les entreprises soient impliquées et informées du travail fourni par le cabinet et veillent à l’élimination de l’incohérence et du dédoublement de la réglementation entre les provinces de l’Atlantique. Plus particulièrement, l’équipe a participé, avec le milieu commercial, au Plan d’action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif du conseil des premiers ministres de l’Atlantique. Le partenariat a permis de faire quelques progrès dans la réduction des barrières commerciales interprovinciales dans l’indemnisation d’ouvriers des secteurs du camionnage, et dans la santé et la sécurité au travail en outre, grâce à ce travail, l’efficacité de la réglementation régionale s’est améliorée.

Paul Pierlot

Gestionnaire principal, Initiatives de compétitivité, au gouvernement du Manitoba, et directeur d’Entrepreunariat Manitoba, au gouvernement du Manitoba

Avril 2017

Paul Pierlot est reconnu pour son rôle exceptionnel dans l’adoption d’une loi sur la réduction du fardeau administratif au Manitoba. M. Pierlot et son équipe ont été les principaux architectes du Projet de loi 22 du Manitoba : La Loi sur la responsabilisation en matière de réglementation et modifiant la loi sur les textes législatifs et réglementaires, ainsi que les lois subséquentes visant à modifier le fardeau administratif; Projet de loi 24 : La Loi de 2017 sur la réduction du fardeau administratif et l’efficacité du gouvernement.

En vertu du Projet de loi 22, le Manitoba deviendra la première province à mettre en œuvre le défi un pour un de la FCEI. La province va même plus loin en mettant en œuvre une politique de réduction de deux pour un pour les quatre premières années suivant l’application de la loi.

Paul travaille depuis plusieurs années afin de déterminer les fardeaux réglementaires qui pèsent sur les PME et les autres résidents du Manitoba. Avec le Projet de loi 22, la province s’efforcera de trouver un équilibre entre les exigences réglementaires, de déterminer la meilleure option, d’évaluer leur impact, de consulter les personnes pertinentes et de communiquer avec elles, de surveiller et de minimiser le nombre de formalités administratives et de rationaliser les pratiques.
Le plus important, Paul et son équipe détermineront d’abord le nombre d’exigences réglementaires dans la province et la façon de mesurer leur impact et leur croissance.
 

M. Sam Jawad

Président de Chase Paymentech

Février 2017

M. Sam Jawad, président de Chase Paymentech Solutions Canada, est le troisième membre de l’Ordre de l’ours de la FCEI à s’être engagé à réduire le fardeau administratif pour les PME au Canada. Après avoir travaillé plus de 12 ans dans l’industrie du paiement, M. Jawad connaît très bien le rôle important que joue une entreprise de traitement des paiements dans l’existence quotidienne d’un commerce. Au fil des ans, la FCEI a entretenu d’excellentes relations avec Chase. En plus d’offrir des tarifs concurrentiels, elle a travaillé dur pour réduire la paperasse associée au traitement des cartes de crédit. Chase a éliminé les frais de résiliation ainsi que d’autres frais communs à l’industrie pour les membres de la FCEI, et elle a amélioré la divulgation et la complexité d’état financier et des contrats. 

Récemment, M. Jawad s’est associé à la FCEI par l’entremise de MasterCard, ce qui a permis de conclure une entente qui bénéficiera directement aux 109 000 entreprises membres de la FCEI. Elles pourront désormais accéder aux tarifs exclusifs réservés auparavant à une poignée de grandes entreprises. Cela signifie des taux plus bas et moins de frais pour les PME, créant ainsi un environnement plus convivial pour les PME au Canada, ce qui profitera à notre climat économique global. Merci, M. Jawad!

L’équipe chargée de la réduction du fardeau administratif au sein du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique

Décembre 2016

En mars 2015, la Commission sur la réduction de la paperasse a annoncé la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la journée de la réduction du fardeau administratif, qui aura lieu chaque année le premier mercredi de mars.

Parallèlement à cette annonce, il y avait l’engagement à réduire le fardeau administratif grâce à une consultation permanente sur la réduction de la paperasse. Cette consultation occupe une position permanente sur le site Web du gouvernement où les citoyens peuvent partager leurs préoccupations sur la façon de rationaliser et de moderniser les processus lourds, ce qui facilitera la poursuite des activités des PME. Grâce à l’engagement de cette équipe, la Colombie-Britannique continue d’être un chef de file dans le dossier de la réduction du fardeau administratif.

Carol Hamilton et le Conseil municipal

Mairesse de la Ville de Colwood

Décembre 2016

En avril 2016, la mairesse et le Conseil municipal de Colwood ont annoncé une dispense des frais de renouvellement du permis d’affaires. À partir de 2017, les entreprises existantes de Colwood ne paieront plus de frais, mais devront effectuer un renouvellement en ligne rapide et facile chaque année pour maintenir leur licence en vigueur. Les nouvelles entreprises acquitteront un versement unique lors de leur première demande et, une fois approuvé, recevront une licence permanente.