Skip to main content

Everything you need to know about Statutory Holidays in the Yukon

There are ten statutory holidays in the Yukon Employment Standards Act. They are:

  • New Years Day
  • Good Friday
  • Victoria Day
  • National Aboriginal Day
  • Canada Day
  • Discovery Day
  • Labour Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Remembrance Day
  • Christmas Day

To be eligible for statutory holiday pay an employee:

  • Must have been employed 30 calendar days before the holiday, and
  • worked their last scheduled shift before the holiday and their first scheduled shift after the holiday, unless their absence is permitted by the Employment Standards Act. This could include things like sick leave or a day off that has been requested and given, and
  • be required to work on the holiday if called to work but would be entitled to additional pay depending on whether they work regular hours and how they're paid.

For more information on Statutory Holidays in the Yukon you can visit the Government website, or contact Business Resources on 1-888-234-2232

April 9, 2019

Related Documents