Wanted: More small business-friendly municipalities

Too many municipal governments continue to ignore the needs and concerns of small business.  It’s time for that to stop.  We asked mayoral candidates in the September 24, 2013 municipal elections across Newfoundland and Labrador to commit to greater fairness, accountability, and respect for small business.

All candidates in the election were asked the following simple questions:

  • Fairness – Stop overtaxing small businesses.  Why should small businesses pay two, three, or even four times more property taxes than residents on the same assessed value?
  • Accountability – Stop spending beyond your means.  What is your plan to control the size and cost of the municipal government?  Stop burying small business in red tape.  How will you give small business back some time to serve their customers?
  • Respect - Not only do small businesses create jobs, pay taxes, and contribute to the economy, they also generously support charitable and community causes.  How will you give small business owners the respect they deserve? 

Mayoral Candidate Commitments
We committed to helping small business owners make informed decisions on voting day. CFIB  sent out a questionnaire to the mayoral candidates in 10 municipalities in Newfoundland and Labrador, asking for their specific commitments on the key issues for small business. The candidate’s responses are posted here.

More info

Useful links

CFIB speaks out on municipal issues and research


Here are the responses we received:

St. John'sParadiseMount Pearl Corner BrookConception Bay South
Dennis O'KeefeDarryl PowerRandy Simms Donna FrancisWoodrow French
Sheilagh O'LearyAllan EnglishCharles Pender (no response)Ken McDonald (no response)
Geoff Chalk (no response)Dan Bobbett (no response)Gord Taylor (no response)
 Kurtis Coombs (no response)

GanderLabrador CityDeer LakeGrand Falls-Windsor Happy Valley – Goose Bay
Claude Elliott (no response)Karen Oldford (no response)Myra Spence (no response) 

Al Hawkins (no response)

John Hickey (no response)
  Dean Ball (no response)Jamie Snook (no response)